listen live
West Liberty, OH

BHS holds NHS induction (Audio included)

Bellefontaine High School held its annual National Honor Society induction on Wednesday to induct 24 new members.

To be in National Honor Society, students must complete a minimum of 6 hours of community service every year in high school. They must maintain a 3.5 GPA and demonstrate strong leadership and character.

Pictured Left: New members of the Bellefontaine Chapter of National Honor Society.

JoAnne Aburto is the advisor for the Bellefontaine Chapter.

The ceremony began with a welcome from Christine Galvin, the principal at BHS. JoAnne Aburto followed with information on the history of NHS.

Next, the current NHS officers presented speeches on the four pillars of the group. President Austin Blankemeyer spoke on leadership, Vice President Kendall Pemberton discussed service, Secretary Casey Mehl talked about character, and Treasurer Alexa Haushalter spoke about scholarship.

The speaker for the event was Darrin Haubert. He is the Associate Financial Advisor at Wells Fargo and is involved with the Katterhenry Investment Group. He graduated from the University of Dayton with a Business Marketing Degree. He is currently on the Logan County Area Chamber of Commerce Finance Committee and is a member of Rotary International and Friends Serving Friends.

The inductees signed the National Honor Society book, lit their candles, and said the pledge to complete the ceremony.

New members include: JD Bensman, Shantelle Binfet, Kelsie Blair, Kyle Brunner, Nick A. Burton, Nic J. Burton, Dani Champion, Kylie Croston, Sean Davis, Kameren Haley, Nick Heydinger, Madeline Houser, Kylie Jenkins, Johnathen Kirby, Erin Levine, Kelley Lewis, Olivia Martin, Corey McLaughlin, Emily O'Connor, Drake Roebuck, Casey Scott, Carley Strzalka, Brooke Turner, and Nick Young.

Current members include: Austin Blankemeyer, Hannah Boy, Elise Brunner, Sarah Bull, Ashley Burkhammer, Alex Burton, Rebecca Carman, Courtney Chervenak, Josh Clifton, Noelle Dunn, Emma Earick, Michelle Frantz, Brandon Gasper, Matt Gump, Josh Haisley, Kinsey Harman, Kyle Harris, Alexa Haushalter, Julia Hunt, Jaelyn Jester, Amber Jones, Casey Mehl, Kendall Pemberton, Allison Penny, Rohan Prasad, Hillary Rader, Whitney Rader, Evan Snapp, Caitlin Stalk, Patrick Tarasiewicz, Katie Vetorino, and Brett Wisner.

Listen to Madeline Houser talk about how it feels to be inducted into NHS.

Listen to Kelley Lewis discuss what the ceremony involved.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
Enter to win tickets to see Alabama in concert
bike tracks
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report