listen live
West Liberty, OH

Boys Scouts recognizes local leaders and youth

Local Boy Scout leaders and youth were recognized recently.

Tom Irick, Scoutmaster of First United Methodist Church’s Troop 182, was honored with the Blue Jacket District Award of Merit for his service in Boy Scouts of America.

The national award is the highest recognition that can be presented to a Scouter in Logan County. It is presented in recognition for outstanding service to the youth of the community through Scouting.

Tom has been an active member of the district for several years, filling in vital roles that include Cubmaster, training, recruiting, and activity planning. He has supported numerous local events including most recently serving as Boy Scout Roundtable Commissioner for the past two years. He can be found at Camp Birch helping with BALOO, Outdoor Skills, summer camp events, and Wood Badge adult leader training. He is also an Eagle Scout, Scouting’s highest youth honor.

Daniel Meier of Troop 51 in Rushsylvania was named Boy Scout of the Year for Logan County. He has earned the award through leadership and dedication to his Troop, where he currently serves as assistant senior patrol leader and historian. He has earned numerous merit badges, received the Ad Altare Dei religious emblem for Catholic Scouts, and is a member of the Order of the Arrow Brotherhood. He is the son of Ken and Crystal Meier. He is a freshman at Benjamin Logan High School, where he plays basketball, percussion for marching and concert bands, and has a 4.0 average. He is a member and altar server at St. Mary of the Woods Catholic Church, Russells Point.

The Cub Scout of the Year honor was bestowed on Corwin Bell, Pack 191, at DeGraff United Methodist Church. He was honored for his selfless service to a local family who experience a house fire. Corwin had recently received a gift card for his efforts in the annual Scouting popcorn sale fundraiser. He decided the family needed the gift card.

The District Flint Award was given to Lena VanBuskirk, Pack 81/Troop 94, and Angie Curtis, Pack 145, in recognition for their exceptional service.

The other honorees this year for the district include: Cub Leader of the Year: Lena VanBuskirk, Pack 81; Boy Scout/Venture Leader: Chuck Overly, Troop 182; Commissioner’s award: Mary Woolf, Pack 81; Chairman’s Award: Don Corwin, Troops 51 & 182.

(Pictured left to right: Don Corwin, Chuck Overly, Daniel Meier, Lena VanBuskirk, and Tom Irick)

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
picture polls
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report