listen live
West Liberty, OH

Two West Liberty drivers post wins at Shady Bowl

Mark ParkerIt was a night of action for Shady Bowl Speedway fans as seven divisions competed on the three-tenths mile oval. The action was marred by three serious incidents that sent two drivers to local hospitals. Lynn Mitchell and Justin Pope were both treated and released after crashes in the Dwarf car and tuner features.

(Pictures courtesy of Isaacs Photo)

The late model feature saw Landon Sciacca lead the first seven laps before giving way to Mark Parker. Parker led the parade until lap 17 when fast qualifier Nathan Herron motored by. Herron led until lap twenty when his hopes of victory went up in smoke as his engine let go bringing out the yellow flag. Parker then put his Larry Harris owned Hinders Sports Bar Chevy back out front on the restart. Parker and defending track champion Matthew Parsons had a great battle the last ten laps before Parker took the checker just ahead of Parsons to take the win in the Delille Welding sponsored race. Dash winner Josh Smith was third with Sciacca fourth and Brad Coons fifth. Jamie Hunt was the heat race winner.

Mike CarrollIn modified racing, veteran driver Roger Winget led the first two circuits before giving way to nephew Greg Winget. Greg looked poised to win the race before Kettering’s Mike Carroll sped past on lap twenty. Carroll, who also won the dash, led the final laps in his McDonald's sponsored open wheeler to post his first win of the season in the Miller Electric 30. Brad Williams was second with Greg Winget third, fast qualifier Bill Burba fourth, and Chris Parker fifth. Roger and Greg Winget posted heat wins.

The 20 lap MK Morris sponsored street stock was a heartbreaker for Steve Snapp. Snapp took advantage of his pole starting position to lead the field to the white flag. Snapp entered turn three just slightly ahead of second-place running Josh Sage when the two made contact. The resulting scramble saw at least five cars involved. The restart saw Snapp back out front, but it was quickly apparent something was amiss with his Monte Carlo. Jim Lewis Jr. of Fairborn was able to get by Snapp just before the checker to post his first win of the season in his Rubber Seal Camaro. Shawn Stansell was also able to get by Snapp for second spot, with Snapp crossing the line in third. Rodney Roush and fast qualifier Jason Burnside rounded out the top five. Lewis was the dash winner with heat honors going to Stansell and Snapp.

Brandon BayseThe dwarf car feature was a crash-filled event. On lap three Greg Sparks took a wild ride down the backchute as he tried to avoid a spin just ahead of him. Sparks got airborne and rode the wall before rolling twice. Sparks was unhurt but the car suffered heavy damage. Racing resumed with Covington's Brandon Bayse the leader. The red flew again when Lynn Mitchell collected the turn two inner wall. Mitchell was transported to a local hospital where she was treated and released. When racing resumed Bayse put his PTS backed coach out front and never was challenged as he cruised to another win in the Lincoln Electric sponsored event. Chris Hull was second with Jason Hitchcock third, Jesse Gade fourth, and Brian Marsh fifth.

Gary EatonThe tuner feature also saw a serious crash. On lap one Justin Pope hit the inside retaining wall on turn two. Pope then shot up the racetrack collecting Chad Small II. Both hit the outside wall coming off turn two at nearly full speed. The impact virtually appeared to destroy both cars. Pope was transported to a local hospital where he was treated and released. Small got out of his battered ride and made his way back to the pit area under his own power. When racing resumed it was a familiar face posing for photos as West Liberty’s Gary Eaton Jr. put his Luxor backed Honda in victory lane after passing what seemed to be his entire family to post the win in the Victor Technologies backed event. Terry Eaton, Holli Eaton, Dylan Troyer, and Ron Masters round out the top five. Masters was the dash winner with Troyer taking the heat win. Gary Eaton was fast qualifier.

Steve ClarksonThe Pro-4 feature was won by Houston’s Steve Clarkson in his Rosewood Machine and Tool backed Ford. Fast qualifier Justin Meade was second with David Gerstner third, Chevy Goodson fourth, and Rodney Schrack fifth.

The 15 lap compact feature was won by New Carlisle's Kenny George in his Quick Parts sponsored racer. Nicholas Meade, David Callahan, Jay Lakins, and Chris Prater finished second thru fifth.

This Saturday will be Military Night with all active and retired military admitted free of charge with proper ID. It will also be the final points race of the season. The late models, modifieds, street stocks, tuners, compacts, and dwarf cars will be in action. Racing is set to start at 7.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
Enter to win tickets to see Alabama in concert
bike tracks
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report