listen live
West Liberty, OH

Updated: Big Orange boys make it 5 straight, girl's reign ends at 9 - cross country scoreboard

The Big Orange Boys captured their 5th straight OHC title and 25th conference title in school history at the OHC meet Saturday.

For the Big Orange Joey Adams won the race and was named OHC Runner of the Year. Earning First Team All-OHC were Chris Buschur (3) and Ross Kelley (4). Second Team All-OHC goes to Charlie Williams (9) and Alex Steiner (10). Earning All-OHC Honorable Mention are Chris Davis (16) and Michael Lehman (17).

Other finishers: Bryce Yoder (19), Kaden Cox (20), Andrew Landis (29), and Bryan Woods (30).

There were 47 total runners.

Coach Mike Louden: "Just in awe of the performance that my guys displayed today on their own home course. Also, extremely proud of Joey Adams who won the race giving us four consecutive years of having the OHC Runner of the Year (2010- Colin Wilson, 2011 and 2012- Aaron Scott). Joey has worked extremely hard all year and is very deserving of the award. Extremely proud of our program today and estatic about our lone senior Chris Buschur, who has now been a part of six OHC titles going back to 7th grade. Can't even begin to express how much he has meant to this program. We've preached all week that we needed to take each leg of the post season one week at a time and treat it as if there was no next week guaranteed. I believe that they did just that today with their performance. It is not too often you get to coach a collective group of young men that represent our program the way that they do day in and day out.”

The Big Orange Middle School Boys capped off their season by finishing runner-up just two points behind Cedarville.

For the Tigers, Isaac Smith finished 2, Jordan Lewis 3, Gabe Lewis 10, and Richard Godwin 12 in the field of 23.

The West Liberty-Salem girls’ nine year OHC championship title run came to an end Saturday as the Big Orange placed 4th at the OHC meet Saturday at the Ohio Caverns. Northeastern won the team title.

The Big Orange was led by senior Alyssa Strickland's 3rd place finish. This is the 4th consecutive year Strickland has been awarded first team all-conference honors.

Other finishers:  Jenna Magnuson (11), Katie Hartsel (15), Madison Woodruff (22), Leah Cole (23), Grace Edwards (27), and Bethany Painter (29).

WL-S competes at the D3 Southwest District meet at Clayton on Saturday.

The WL-S middle school girls placed second at the OHC meet.

Reghan Bieleski won the individual race title with a time that would have won the middle school boys race. Joanna Csillag finished 3rd with a 13:05.

Other WL-S placers: Kaeley Lattimer (10), Ashley Black (12), Anna Louden (16), Rachel McGill (19), Taylor Henault (20), Maddie Estes (22), Alexis Eshleman (26), and Anna Edwards (28).

The BHS Boys finished 4th out of 12 teams at the CBC meet featuring 117 runners.

The Chiefs were led by Ryan Dunn (14), earning 1st team all CBC honors; Storm Harman (18) and Davud Guajardo (27) earning 2nd team honors. Wes Samuels placed 30 and Jay Clement 35. TJ Lamb and Logan Carr rounded out the top 7 at 59 and 61 place, respectively.

Coach Davis: “The Chiefs goal was to beat NW. A near miss... will have to do so next week to qualify to the regional meet, as the top 3 advance from the district meet”.

The Bellefontaine Middle School cross country teams finished the season strong with a lot of new personal records at the CBC Championships at Tipp City.

The Jr. Lady Chiefs finished 4th out of 7 teams and were paced by a strong performances by 1st Team All-CBC runner Aubrey Stolly in 4th and Honorable Mention All-CBC Brooke Chapman in 15th. Other strong performances were ran by Bailey Morales in 35, Haley Price 42, Justine Scherer 46, Kaitey Chervenak 58, MacKenzie Schwartz 62, Caroline Eader in 65, and Mckenzie Haley in 71.

The Jr. Chieftain boys finished 6th out of 8 teams and were led by 1st Team All-CBC runners Domonic Wilson in 3rd and Tate Schmittauer in 10th. Also performing well were Jacob Karg in 44, Logan Lamb 48, Trey Henderson 49, Weston Rose 66, and Gage Buffkin 67.

The Benjamin Logan boys finished in 10th place at the CBC League meet on Saturday.

Scoring for the Raiders were Wyatt Warren (39), Justin Jordan (53), Cameron Johnson (55), Troy Sellhorst (70), Trent Rees (83), Orin Reams (91), Austin DeNeff (111), and Matt Kavanagh (116).

The team will be back in action next Saturday at the district cross-country meet at Miami Valley CTC in Clayton.

The Benjamin Logan varsity girls placed 9th in the CBC Championships.

Lindsey Longbrake - 44th - 23:41

Maggie Woodruff - 51st - 24:04

Krystal Null - 54th - 24:12

Ashley Gearheart - 55th - 24:12

Brooke Watson - 69th - 25:51

Jessica Skidmore - 92nd - 33:06

Jessica Hillary - 95th - 34:11

The Benjamin Logan Junior High girls took 5th in the CBC Championships.

Katie Meier - 26th - 15:11

Catherine Rhodes - 27 - 15:13

Whitney Shellabarger - 28th - 15:21

Chloe Woodruff - 47th - 17:02

Cameron Porter - 64th - 19:28

Kayla Null - 66th - 20:09

The Benjamin Logan Junior High boys placed 7th in the CBC Championships.

Daniel McPherson - 23rd - 13:23

Logan Phillips - 28th - 13:34

Zane Scheiderer - 30th - 13:36

Landon Wenger - 32nd - 13:37

Jagur Beaschler - 46th - 14:32

Nolan Pelger - 50th - 15:01

Christian Blumenschein - 56th - 15:22

Landyn Inglis - 63rd - 16:06

Nathan Beikman - 69th - 16:46

The Indian Lake Middle School teams also competed in the CBC Championships on Saturday at Kyle Park in Tipp City,

The girls' team placed 7th.

Deanna Fry led the girls' team finishing in 41st place out of 73 runners. Ciara Wall finished in 48,

MaryAnn Wahl 51, Mollie Swygart 55, Kiley Titus 57, Nina Harris 63, Kerstin Smith 68, and Taylor Whalen 69.

For the boys, Tommy Meek led finishing in 55th place out of 80 runners, and Wyatt Maine finished in 78th.

The Riverside runners participated in the NWCC cross country meet on Saturday.

7th grader Jaxon Heath came in first place for the Jr. High boys.

Junior Ella Jackson had a great run and Emily Teague got a fabulous time.

The boys high school top finisher was Brett Rappold, followed by Ben Rappold, Blaine Walter, and Lukeus Dalton

The high school runners will participate in the district meet in Dayton next Saturday.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
picture polls
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report