Bellefontaine Mayor to Lead Mayors Association of Ohio 


Mayor Ben Stahler, from the City of Bellefontaine, has been named president of the Mayors Association of Ohio.

The Mayors Association of Ohio was created in 1980 as a subsidiary of the Ohio Municipal League to focus on the improvement of municipal government and administration from the unique perspective of mayors.

In his new role, Stahler will lead the association and its Executive Committee to ensure it continues to meet the needs of Ohio’s city and village mayors – providing them resources, training and the opportunity for peer-to-peer collaboration.

“Serving as the mayor of Bellefontaine has been one of the highlights of my life,” Stahler said. “I’m looking forward to sharing my experiences with other mayors from throughout the state as president of the Mayors Association – and I’m sure I’ll continue to learn from my fellow mayors, as well.”

Mayor Stahler has served as Bellefontaine mayor since originally being appointed in 2014. In addition to his many community activities, Stahler has been chairman of the Logan County Mayors Association since 2014 and is on Gov. DeWine’s Task Force on Volunteer Fire Service. He is also a licensed pharmacist.

Stahler follows John Thebout, mayor of the Village of Batavia, as president. The position changes hands on an annual basis.

The change in leadership took place at the Mayors Association of Ohio Annual Conference, a two-day event held by the Ohio Municipal League, June 21-22, 2023, at the Marriott Columbus Northwest in Dublin. In addition to the annual conference, the mayors meet periodically throughout the year.