Board of Elections release list of candidates and issues for May 2nd primary


The Logan County Board of Elections recently released the list of candidates and issues that have been filed for the May 2nd primary election.

The board will meet Thursday, February 9th to certify the petitions and resolutions that meet all the requirements for certification to the ballot. Once that is done, they will send an updated list along with further information regarding the May 2nd election.

List of candidates running:

Bellefontaine Mayor: Dave Crissman (R), Ben Stahler (R), and Tim Steinhelfer (D)

Logan County Municipal Court Judge: Jacob Estes (R) and Crystal Welsh (R)

Law Director: Joshua Stolly (R)

City Auditor: Fred Brentlinger (R)

President of Bellefontaine Council: Zeb Wagner (R)

Bellefontaine City Council-at-Large: Deborah Baker (R), Jenna James (R), Victoria Maddox (D), and Kyle Springs (R)

1st Ward City Council: John Aler (R)

2nd Ward City Council: Jordan Reser (R) and C. Raymond Swisher (D)

3rd Ward City Council: Nick Davis (R)

4th Ward City Council: Mick Lile (R) and MacKenzie Myers Fitzpatrick (D)

Issues Filed:

The Village of DeGraff – Additional Income Tax for paying costs of acquiring, constructing, furnishing, equipping, improving, maintaining, and operating a municipal fire station facility, a fire truck, and related fire apparatus or other fire equipment owned by the Village of DeGraff, including any related operating expenses, and paying any debt service charges incurred in connection therewith (0.5% continuous)

Village of Huntsville – Additional Property Tax Levy for Fire Protection & EMS (1.5 mills for 5 years)

Jefferson Township – Renewal Property Tax Levy for Library (0.5 mills for 5 years)

Stokes Southwest Fire District – Renewal Property Tax Levy for Fire Protection (1.6 mills for 5 years)

KTWhit Investments LLC dba Buckeye Pizza of DeGraff – On-Premise Sales & Sunday Sales Local Options