Prospective Candidates File Petitions for 2024 Ohio Primary Election


COLUMBUS – Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose announced that 21 prospective candidates have met yesterday’s deadline to file petitions seeking to appear on Ohio’s March 19th primary ballot.

Nine candidates filed paperwork to seek partisan nominations for president of the United States; five candidates filed to seek partisan nominations for the office of United States Senator; and seven candidates filed petitions to run for justice of the Ohio Supreme Court.

As of yesterday’s deadline, here are the following candidates that have submitted paperwork for review:


  • Chris Christie (R)
  • Ron DeSantis (R)
  • Nikki Haley (R)
  • Vivek Ramaswamy (R)
  • Donald Trump (R)
  • Ryan Binkley (R)
  • Joe Biden (D)
  • Dean Phillips (D)
  • Marianne Williamson (D)

US Senate

  • Matt Dolan (R)
  • Frank LaRose (R)
  • Bernie Moreno (R)
  • Doug Stuart (R)
  • Sherrod Brown (D)

Supreme Court

  • Joseph Deters (R)
  • Dan Hawkins (R)
  • Megan Shanahan (R)
  • Michael Donnelly (D)
  • Lisa Forbes (D)
  • Terri Jamison (D)
  • Melody Stewart (D)

Upon review, the petitions will now be sent to the relevant county boards of elections to verify the accuracy of the signatures.

The boards will then return those results to the Secretary of State’s office by January 2, 2024.

The Secretary of State’s office then has until January 9, 2024, to certify the official ballots for the March 19 election.

Absentee voting for military and overseas citizens casting a ballot in Ohio’s presidential primary election will begin in a little over six weeks on February 2, 2024.