Chiefs & Tigers take middle school conference meets


The Bellefontaine girls won the CBC championship Saturday.

Grace Brown repeated as the league champion.

Joining her on 1st team All-CBC were Hailee Lamb (6th) and Rylee Yelton (9th).

Second-team All-CBC awards went to Sloan Stolly (22nd) and Karsyn Newkirk (27th). Camila Cely-Hernandez finished in 33rd for the Chiefs and Hannah Wilson finished 39th.

Individual results:

1. Grace Brown – 11:45

6. Hailee Lamb – 13:47

9. Rylee Yelton – 14:03

22. Sloan Stolly – 14:49

27. Karsyn Newkirk – 15:05

33. Camila Cely-Hernandez – 15:28

39. Hannah Wilson – 15:37

The Bellefontaine boys placed 2nd at the league meet.

Jake Moreland won the race.

Joining him on 1st team All-CBC was Oliver Grandstaff (9th).

Brenden Murray (19th) earned 2nd Team All-CBC.

Rounding out the Chiefs’ effort were Landon Rister (30th), Will Myers (31st), Grady Feasel (40th), Caleb Sechrest (45th), and Haydon Argabright (78th).

1. Jake Moreland – 11:05

9. Oliver Grandstaff – 12:13

19. Brenden Murray – 12:47

30. Landon Rister – 13:35

31. Will Myers – 13:37

40. Grady Feasel – 13:57

45. Caleb Sechrest – 14:19

78. Haydon Argabright – 19:48

The Chieftain boys and girls will run in the Division II State Meet at Dublin Jerome next Sunday.

The Benjamin Logan Middle School Cross Country teams finished their season Saturday at the CBC Championships meet at Springfield Shawnee.

The Raider girls finished a very successful season with third place overall in the tough CBC, of 12 teams. In a field of 74 runners, Bonnie Brunson placed 8th with a time of 13:54. Also scoring for the Lady Raiders were Gwendolyn Smith, 16 at 14:29, Lottie Bodin, 19th, 14:43, Molly Siefring, 23rd, 14:49, and Lauren Kennedy 28th, 15:05.

The Benjamin Logan boys ran some of their best times of the season. They finished 7th of 12 teams. Max Troth paced the Raiders in a race of 84 runners with an impressive personal record of 11:58 and finished 6th overall. He was followed by Sam Bachus, 23rd, running his personal record of 13:03. Next was Gabe Elsasser, 32, 13:39, Asher Boysel, 49, with a PR of 14:27, and Charlie Wolfe, 60, with a PR of 15:45. Micheal Berry and Ezra Ramsey also recorded personal records.

The West Liberty-Salem Middle School teams swept the Ohio Heritage Conference championships held at Cedarville.

The Lady Tigers won the OHC title with 23 points.

Addi Wallen – 1st (12:23) Champion

Hattie Jacobs – 2nd (12:29) 1st Team OHC Honors

Mariska Smith – 5th (13:01) 1st Team OHC Honors

Ellery Wygal – 7th (13:15) 1st Team OHC Honors

Isla Liechty – 8th (13:26) 1st Team OHC Honors

Brianna Blair – 34th (16:58)

Lexie Wisner – 41st (18:20)

The Tiger boys earned a perfect score of 15 points to secure the OHC title.

Asher Cole – 1st (11:14) Champion

Brayan Gullett – 2nd (11:27) 1st Team OHC Honors

Zeke Longshore – 3rd (11:36) 1st Team OHC Honors

Adly Knox – 4th (11:36) 1st Team OHC Honors

Zac Carter – 5th (11:40) 1st Team OHC Honors

Calen Craig – 21st (14:23)

Casey Boyer – 28th (15:15)

The WL-S Middle School teams plan to compete at the OHSAA Middle School Invitational next Saturday.