Quincy’s Josh Smith and the rain win at Shady Bowl


Shady Bowl Speedway was poised for a big night of racing Saturday but Mother Nature had other plans.

The Dave Nagel Excavating LLC Late Model feature got underway as a light drizzle started. The early leader was dash winner Don Mahaffey Jr. Mahaffey led the first eleven laps before spinning on the front chute bringing out the yellow flag and forcing him to the rear of the field.

Don Fleming took over the lead on the restart as the rain picked up. Fleming held the point until lap nineteen when Quincy’s Josh Smith got by.

Smith had two challengers for his top spot, Fleming and the rain. Fleming never gave up and hounded Smith and the rain never let up. The duo put on a great show running side-by-side and bumper-to-bumper on the slick surface.

On the final counter, Fleming could only watch as Smith took the checkered flag in his Smith Motorsports ride.

Smith has won six straight features.

Jim Lewis Jr., Logan McPherson, and Tyler Parsons rounded out the top five.

Tony Brunke won the heat race.

All other features were rained out.

In preliminary racing before the rain hit the Wooten Automotive and Towing of Urbana Street Stocks qualified with Jason Mahaffey setting the fast time with a 14.639 lap. Chris Parker won the dash with Richard Roush taking the heat race.

The Bullet Liners of Dayton Thunder Cars saw Buck Purtee set a quick time (15.267) and win the dash. Tim Hines carried the checker for the heat win.

Devin Glessner set a quick time (16.806) for the Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts, Chase Lang won the four-lap dash, with Nick Hall and Timmy Bailey posted heat wins.

The Kenyon Midgets were making their Shady Bowl debut. Andrew Patterson tripped the timer at 13.640 to set a fast time. Andrew Patterson and Jackson Macenko were heat winners.

The speedway also inducted its newest members to its Hall of Fame. Roger Roush, Don Gregory Sr., Ed Tapp, Teri Burnside, Buster Blackford, John Campbell, Roger Winget, Debbie Perry, Jack Bowsher, the Poole Family, Carl Carr, Robbie Dean, Dave Scherer, and Dick Kelly were welcomed to the Hall.

The makeup schedule will start this Saturday, August 20th, when the Street Stocks and Compact features will be held. Grandstands will open at 2 p.m., with the first feature at 2:30 p.m. Fans can use armbands from last Saturday for these features.

When the second feature is over, all pit people and fans will go to the ticket booth and buy tickets for Saturday night’s program. The 63-lap Mean Gene Johnson Thunder car feature will be running either August 27 or September 4. There will be no makeup date for the Kenyon Midgets.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 8/13/22

Dave Nagel Excavating LLC Late Models:

Fast qualifier: Josh Smith 13.517

Dash winner: Don Mahaffey Jr

Heat winner: Tony Brunke

Feature 40 laps: 1. Josh Smith 2. Ryan Fleming 3. Jim Lewis Jr 4. Logan McPherson 5. Tyler Parsons 6. Matt Parsons 7. Don Mahaffey Jr. 8. Tony Brunke 9. Ralph Harrod 10. Craig Borland 11. Andy Pine

Wooten Automotive of Urbana Street Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Jason Mahaffey 14.639

Dash winner: Chris Parker

Heat winner: Richard Roush

Feature rained out

Bullet Liners of Dayton Thunder Cars:

Fast qualifier: Buck Purtee 15.267

Dash winner: Buck Purtee

Heat winner: Tim Hines

Feature rained out

Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts:

Fast Qualifier: Devin Glessner 16.806

Dash winner: Chase Lang

Heat Winners: Nick Hall and Timmy Bailey

Feature rained out.

Kenyon Midgets:

Fast qualifiers: Andrew Patterson 13.640

Heat winners: Andrew Patterson and Jackson Macenko

Feature rained out