Raceway to pay tribute to hall of famers


The Waynesfield Raceway Park will pay tribute to a pair of legendary sprint car hall of famers Sunday, July 3 for the 13th Annual Jack Hewitt Classic and the 4th Annual Bob Hampshire Classic. The special night will feature the high-flying winged Ti22 Performance FAST on Dirt 410 sprint cars and the non-wing talents of the MPD Racing Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series (BOSS).

The 13th Annual Jack Hewitt Classic will pay the feature winner $3,000 while the 4th Annual Bob Hampshire Classic will pay the winner $3,000.

Jesse Vermillion comes in leading the BOSS points while Nate Dussel sits atop the FAST standings.

Last year Australian Lachlan McHugh scored his first-ever win in the United States, claiming the Bob Hampshire Classic checkers.

Isaac Chapple made history Saturday last season in the Jack Hewitt Classic, claiming his third consecutive win with the MPD Racing Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series, the first driver to accomplish that feat in the 11-year history of the series.

The 13th Annual Jack Hewitt Classic honors racing legend and National Sprint Car Hall of Fame member Jack Hewitt, a Troy, Ohio native. Hewitt, who made a name for himself as a champion with the All-Star Circuit of Champions, USAC Silver Crown Series and had won with the World of Outlaws, USAC Sprints, midgets, and Silver Crown series and wins across the country, in winged and non-wing sprints, is known for his no-nonsense attitude and love of the sport. He also competed in the 1998 Indianapolis 500.

The 4th Annual Bob Hampshire Classic honors the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame car owner and mechanic who resides in nearby Alvada, Ohio. Hampshire has owned a race car since 1979 and has earned numerous feature victories with drivers like Jack Hewitt, Jac Haudenschild, Greg Wilson, Johnny Beaber, Keith Kaufman, Rick Ferkel, and many others. Recently, he teamed up as a mechanic with driver Kody Swanson to win four USAC Silver Crown championships. Hewitt drove Hampshire’s famous #63 to the 1985 All-Star Circuit of Champions title and USAC Silver Crown titles in 1986 and 1987.

“Jack Hewitt and Bob Hampshire inspired many young racers and mechanics and help establish sprint car racing in Ohio and the entire region. We are paying tribute to two great men who set the bar very high in dirt track racing,” said Waynesfield Promoter Shane Helms.

Pit gates will open July 3 at 3:30 p.m. with general admission gates swinging open at 4:30 p.m. Tickets are $18 for adults; $15 for seniors (ages 62 and up); $10 for teens (ages 11-15); with kids 10 and under admitted free. Pit passes are $30. Racing will get underway at 7 p.m.