Tiger boys win Dave Lightle Invite; WL-S Girls place 2nd – Wednesday Cross Country results


The West Liberty-Salem varsity girls placed second at the Dave Lightle Invitational Wednesday at Kyle Park in Tipp City, finishing one point out of first place on the two-mile course.

Top 5 Team Scores: 1st Northmont 33, 2nd WL-S 34, 3rd Tipp City 69, 4th Vandalia Butler 102, 5th Miami East 140

The Lady Tigers were led by Ashley Yoder’s 4th place finish (12:26.3). The Big Orange went on to put 4 other runners in the top ten including Malia Miller 5th (12:40.2), Breece Gullett 6th (12:41.3), Addison McAuley 9th (12:45.8) and Gwen McCullough 10th (12:55.5). Taylor Kennedy and Teagan Boyd cracked the top 20 with Kennedy placing 18th (13:12.0) and Boyd 20th (13:13.0).

Also placing for WLS were Elise Longshore 23rd (13:29.1), Claire Longshore 27th (13:42.6), Emma Smith 28th (13:42.8), Mallory Bostick 36th (14:03.3), Chloe Griffith 43rd (14:24.8), Abriley Krabill 46th (14:29.4), Geneva Estep 51st (14:48.8) Mylee Dooley 53rd (15:06.0), Anna Knox 77th (16:36.4) and Laney Craig 84th (17:29.2).

“There aren’t many meets where a team puts 5 runners in the top 10 and doesn’t win,” said WLS head coach, Ann Vogel. “Knowing every place counts is a good lesson to learn going into the postseason. We continue to run well as a team and we’re gaining momentum with every race.”

WL-S will look to defend its Ohio Heritage Conference title Saturday, October 15th at Cedarville University.

WL-S Boys XC

The Tiger varsity boys won the Dave Lightle Invite. It marks the third team title this year.

Team Standings: 1. West Liberty-Salem 48, 2. Tippecanoe 55, 3. Northmont 109, 4. Butler 124, 5. Wayne 136, 6. Piqua 161, 7. Milton Union 192, 8. Miami East 216, 9. Newton Local 226, 10. Urbana 244, 11. Fairborn 252, 12. Greenville 345, 13. Day. Northridge, and 14. West Carrollton 435

For the Tigers: Sr. Owen Harrison 4th 10:14.3, So. Asher Knox 5th 10:14.4, Fr. Gary Wallen 12th 10:36.0, So. Troy Bradley 13th 10:38.4, Fr. Dylan King 14th 10:39.1, So. Quentin Rudolph 15th 10:39.7, Jr. Joey LaRoche 18th 10:48.1, Fr. Brevin Louden 22nd 10:54.0, Fr. Taryn Bradley 24th 10:55.8, Sr. Micah Smith 26th 11:02.0, Fr. Caleb Larson 28th 11:04.5, Jr. Ryan Henry 32nd 11:15.9, Jr. Mason Barger 71st 12:00.8, Sr. Chandler McCafferty 77th 12:09.2, and Jr. Maxwell McCombs 160th 15:08.5.

“The guys ran an outstanding race to capture the title over perennial powerhouse D1 Tippecanoe,” said Head Coach Mike Louden. “I really thought we executed our race plan well in all three phases, from the faster start to the middle mile, to the final 800. These guys continue to amaze me day in and day out with their effort and overall dedication to each other and the program.”

Next Meet: OHC Championship Saturday, October 15th @ Cedarville 9 a.m.