Benjamin Logan BOE Learns About Audit


The Benjamin Logan Board of Education met in a special work session and then followed with a regular board meeting Monday evening.

The purpose of the work session was to hear from Lead Auditor, Kelly Avants, from the National School Public Relations Association. Avants went over the recent Communication Audit that the school and her office performed over the last several months.

The audit took a deep dive into how the district is doing when it comes to communication, and what is good and what is not so good. It also took a look at the effectiveness of communication throughout the district.

Benjamin Logan’s Sally Stolly talks about what the communications audit is and what it means for the district:

The board of education then moved into regular session, approving a Resolution for Salary Placement for Julie Phillips – Intervention Specialist – Step 12, effective August 1, 2022, and Daniel Lyons – Speech – Step 13, effective August 1, 2022.  The Treasurer, in consultation with Board Legal Counsel and NEOLA representative, prepared revisions necessary to Board Policy 3411 to allow Superintendent to determine the credit to be awarded on the salary schedule as necessary and appropriate.

Tim Street, President and General Manager at Logan County Electric Cooperative presented to the board. Street was pleased to announce that district usage was down, resulting in almost $700 in savings a month. Street went on to explain that this was largely due to the fact that usage during peak periods was down overall for the district.

Tara Bair presented the Community Health and Wellness Partners Annual Report. Benjamin Logan received a 100% on the patient satisfaction survey. The district has a behavioral health provider in all three buildings, and 9% of the students utilize their services.

In the superintendent’s report, the search for a new high school principal is underway and applicants will begin interviews later this week. Monday was the first day of training for the Armed Response Team, and another training will take place in early August for those who could not attend today. 17 members were present, and 5 others will attend in August.

The board of education approved the May 2023 financial items:

  • Honda grant in the amount of $5,500
  • Accepted Lucy Brown grant in the amount of $300
  • Accepted Martha Holden Jennings Writing Across the Curriculum grant in the amount of $14,900
  • Create fund 499-9124 and accept School Safety Grant Award for 8,853.18
  • Approved EPC as the property, fleet, and insurance liability provider effective July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024, in the amount of $89,547

The board approved the Treasurer’s attendance at the ASBO Conference pursuant to the contract, subject to a maximum reimbursement of $2,500.

The following was accepted/ adopted:

  • Accepted the resignation of Yasmyn Inskeep- Educational Assistant- Effective July 31, 2023
  • One-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2023, through July 31, 2024) Anthony Courtney- MS Teacher- MA-Step 7, Cody LeMay- MS Teacher- BA- Step 4, and Linda Thompson-Educational Assistant- Step 0
  • A deduct day for Joanne Rader was approved for October 4, 2023
  • DiAnna Zeigler was approved for Summer School as per the Negotiated Agreement for payment upon completion of duties for the 2022-2023 school year.

For the following positions, the supplemental contract for extended service days for the 2023-2024 school year was approved:

  • ES Guidance Counselor – 7
  • MS Guidance Counselor – 10
  • HS Guidance Counselor – 15
  • HS Guidance Counselor – 15
  • HS Librarian – 2
  • HS Science Teacher – 7
  • HS Music Teacher – 10
  • HS/MS Vocal Teacher – 2
  • MS Music Teacher – 2
  • HS Agricultural Teacher – 37
  • HS Family & Consumer Science Teacher – 8
  • HS Family & Consumer Science Teacher – 8
  • HS Business Teacher – 6
  • HS Business Teacher – 6

College Credit Plus (CCP) stipends per the Negotiated Agreement were approved for payment upon completion of duties for the 2021-2022 school year and the 2022-2023 school year to CCP-qualified teachers.

Payment in the amount of $1,000 was approved for the following teachers, upon completion of Orton Gillingham Training: Andrew Bistransin, Renae Deardurff, Tara King, Barb Kuck, Paula Newland, Alison Spriggs, Matt Young, Alyssia Cavallini, Stephenie Jordan, Kara Maurer, Tori Purk, Bobby Gill, Stephanie Rader, Tina McPherson, Brooke Rodriguez, Laurie Kimmel, Deepika Scheiderer, Jackie Atherton, Rob Painter. Paid out of ESSER funds.

They approved the resignation of Marcellus Joshua Webb- Football Coach Assistant HS -supplemental contract for the 2023-2024 school year.

The following individuals were approved for supplemental contracts for the 2023-2024 school year:


  • Basketball Coach Boys MS Lance Predmore 
  • Basketball Coach Boys MS Rob Powell
  • Basketball Coach Boys Freshman HS Jim Sanford
  • Basketball Coach Boys JV HS  Joel Phillips
  • Basketball Coach Girls MS John Fout
  • Basketball Coach Girls MS Dominique Wenger
  • Cheer Coach Football Varsity Maxine Trout
  • Golf Coach Head Girls HS Domonique Wenger
  • Football Coach MS Matt Marshal

The board went on to approve the Rotary Youth Exchange Student for the 2023-2024 School Year as listed. Anni Sofia Kuntonen from Kerava, Finland to be placed with host families: Neill and Tara Rhodes, John and Colleen Bodin, and Tige and Michelle Hamm.

Lastly, the Student Athletic Handbook for the 2023-2024 school year was approved.

You can catch the next Benjamin Logan Board of Education meeting at 6 PM on July 17, 2023.