Benjamin Logan Board Recognizes Art Students; Wraps Up Year


By: Alli Harlan

The Benjamin Logan Board of Education held its last regular meeting for the school year Monday night.

One of the first things on the agenda, the board accepted the resignation of district Treasurer, Jennifer Sudhoff, effective July 5, 2024.

They went on to approve a contract with Environmental Design Group for an evaluation of the sewer treatment plant and sewer collection system; a condition assessment of the infrastructure and recommendations for improvements based on a 20-year lifecycle.

Superintendent, John Scheu, talks about the contract:

The board recognized the final Seniors of the Month, Georgia Bates and Graham Studebaker.

Art teacher, Jennifer Davis said two art students have been honored with the 4th District Congressional Art Show Awards.

Charley Hardman took first place and Lauren Hemmelgarn, second place.

Hardman’s artwork will be hung in Washington DC, with recognition planned this summer by Jim Jordan.

Scheu talks about this terrific art achievement:

Later in the superintendent report, Mr. Scheu said, “We are incredibly proud of our students, their families, BL staff, and the community for coming together to support the Logan County Cancer Society. The Benjamin Logan High School Raider Relay, Improvising a Cure event, and the Benjamin Logan Middle School Rally for a Cure raised approximately $28,000. Thank you to everyone who contributed to this meaningful cause.”

The board went on to approve the following actions:


  • Kara Maurer, Intervention Specialist, effective July 31, 2024, for further employment
  • Alyssia Cavallini, Intervention Specialist, effective July 31, 2024, for further employment

Employment of Personnel – New Hire:

  • One-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2025): Kayla Null, HS Spanish Teacher, BA/150 Step 2

Employment of Personnel – Certified:

  • One-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2025, Retire/Rehire as per the Collective Bargaining Agreement): Bruce Smith, Step 0
  • One-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2025): Alix Brown, Anthony Courtney, Heidi Fuller, Riley Hayhurst, Paul Jenne, Cody LeMay, Greg Saylor
  • Two-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2026): Margaret Bowlby, Renae Deardurff, Jane Hough, Kaitlin Lindemer, Colleen Miller, Laura Mobley, Julie Phillips, Jaclyn Powers, Lance Predmore
  • Three-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2027): Jaclyn Atherton, Lindsey Balla, Kelly Gibson, Cadan Goldstein, Barb Kuck, Joel Phillips, Laura Stanley, Lori Wilson, Amanda Wood
  • Continuing Contract (Effective August 1, 2024): Myles Bowers

Employment of Personnel – Classified:

  • One-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2025): Diane Chamberlin
  • Two-Year Limited Contract (Effective August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2026): Holly Bair, Kyle Boylan, Kandie Brown, Ashley Chrencik, Jonathan Clark, Deanna Danieu, Michele Inskeep, Barb Kensler, Jessica McCoy, Carrie McCullough, Jordon McDonald, Julie McManus, Brenda Mitchell, Cedar Schneider, Sarah Skidmore, Brooke Smith, Keith Snyder, Lisa Stover, Jeff Whatley
  • Continuing Contract (Effective August 1, 2024): Jennifer Hammer, Janice Kennaw, Teresa Stratton, Louella Vermillion

Employment of Personnel – Hourly per timesheet: Michell Jones, Step 3 Secretary Scale for clerical work in the transportation department, payment issued per hour, per timesheet as needed

Employment of Personnel – Summer Technology Workers: $12 per hour, per timesheet for Trevor Sclesky and Hayden Godwin (June, July, and August 2024)

Approved Overnight Trip Stipends: Per the negotiated agreement for the 8th Grade Washington D.C. Trip, May 8-10 (2 nights): Colleen Bodin, Tom Braddock, Scott Frederick, Mollie Johns, Merisha Organ, Amanda Siefring, Cedar Schneider, Scott Vermillion

Employment of Personnel – Resident Educator Stipends:

  • $500.00 Year 1 Mentor: Morgan Dixon for Alix Brown, Melody Wishin for Riley Hayhurst, Scott Vermillion for Greg Saylor
  • $500.00 Year 2 Mentor: Alecia Myers for Laura Mobley, Chelsea Dixon for Kaitlin Lindemer, Alecia Myers for Renae Deardurff, Alecia Myers for Jaclyn Powers, Myles Bowers for Maggie Bowlby

Employment of Personnel – District CWIT Honorarium for teacher leaders: $125 per teacher-leader on the planning committee:

  • Alyssia Cavallini
  • Laurie Kimmel
  • Deepika Scheiderer
  • Tina McPherson
  • Lori Weyant
  • Bobby Gill

Employment of Personnel – Grant payment 5th Quarter Agricultural Education Grant:

  • Lora James, HS Agriculture Teacher, Salary $2,174.50; retirement + medicare $335.96

Employment of Personnel – Certified/Classified Substitute:

  • Food Service, Jennifer Black, effective May 14, 2024

Resignation of Employment of Personnel – Supplementals:

  • Football Coach Assistant HS, Vincent Godsey
  • Volleyball Coach Assistant HS, Kaitlin Lindemer

Employment of Personnel – Supplementals 2024-2025:


  • Basketball Coach Boys MS, Lance Predmore
  • Basketball Coach Boys Freshman, Rob Powell
  • Basketball Coach Boys JV HS, Joel Phillips
  • Basketball Coach Head Boys, Scott Vermillion
  • Cheer Coach Football JV HS, Melissa Burgess
  • Cheer Coach Football MS, Britney Houchin
  • Football Coach Assistant HS, Riley Hayhurst
  • Football Coach Assistant HS, Joseph Webb
  • Soccer Coach Assistant Girls HS, Dave Evans (1/2 contract)
  • Soccer Coach Assistant Girls HS, Bo Johns (1/2 contract)


  • Yearbook Advisor ES, Kyra Fry (1/2 contract)
  • Yearbook Advisor ES, Samantha McPheron (1/2 contract)

The following lunch prices for the 2024-2025 school year were approved:

  • ES Lunch: $2.70
  • MS/HS Lunch: $2.95
  • Reduced Lunch: $0.40
  • Adult Lunch: $3.25
  • ES/MS/HS Breakfast: $1.60
  • ES/MS/HS Reduced Breakfast: $0.30
  • Extra Milk: $0.40

Approved school fees for the 2024-2025 school year:

  • Elementary School: $50
  • Middle School: $60
  • High School: $100

Benjamin Logan will celebrate commencement this Friday at 7 PM in the high school gymnasium.

Congratulations to the Class of 2024!