Local officers awarded for service

Two local police officers were recently honored.

Earl Wisener (Washington Township Police) and Morgan Styles (Russells Point Police) were named the 2022 Logan County CIT Officers of the Year at a Washington Township Trustees meeting on Monday, November 7.

Champaign and Logan Counties share a Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) program, which is a partnership between all law enforcement departments, behavioral health care providers, the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI), the Mental Health Drug and Alcohol Services Board (MHDAS), and other local stakeholders.

Each year, officers are nominated for outstanding service to their communities for effective and compassionate responses to the needs of people who experience a crisis.

Morgan and Earl share this award because of their outstanding teamwork, de-escalation skills, and ability to connect individuals to behavioral health services.

Congratulations to Morgan and Earl for this well-deserved recognition.

Pictured above: L-R – Washington Township Police Chief Michael Thompson, Adam Sorensen (MHDAS), Officer Earl Wisener from Washington Township, Officer Morgan Styles from Russells Point Police, and Russells Point Police Chief Joe Freyhof.