Chiefs finish 4th at annual Jimmy Mac Invitational

Bellefontaine’s High School wrestling team hosted the 12th annual Jimmy Mac Invitational on Saturday and finished 4th as a team with 11 placers in the top 4.


106 – Jared Young 2nd

120 – Kaden Hobart 2nd

132 – Devyn Horsley 2nd

138 – Zane Tevis 2nd

132 – Wes Morris 3rd

150 – Zavier May 3rd

157 – Mason Cook 3rd

165 – Sam Varian 3rd

190 – Parker Knox 3rd

120 – Draven Drake 4th

126 – Payton Gilbert 4th

113 – Jeffery Smith 5th (injury defaulted out of the tournament)

285 – Charlie Bible 7th (3-2 record)

Also competing for the Chiefs were Casey Blackwell (120), Trent Marcinko (150), Justin Robinson (215), and Conor Evans (285).

Kyle Spence received the 2022 Jimmy Mac Award.

Coach LaBatt’s comments:

We had a solid day and saw some improvement,” said BHS head coach Aaron LaBatt. “We had a handful of guys wrestle well, but they had a bad match or one mistake that cost them. We need to work on finishing tournaments better and paying more attention to the little details that make a big difference.”

Individually, Zavier May had a nice day and showed a little more of what we know he is capable of,” said LaBatt. “I thought Wes Morris really stepped up today and Devyn Horsley had a solid tourney. Sam Varian and Mason Cook also looked improved.”