Bellefontaine council tackles busy agenda


The Bellefontaine City Council tackled a packed agenda in their regularly scheduled meeting Tuesday night.

Prior to the legislative portion of the meeting, Mayor Ben Stahler reported to council that he recently signed a proclamation thanking Joanne Ritter for her 30 years of service to the Bellefontaine Shade Tree Commission. He also informed council that he would be swearing in a new firefighter that would bring the department back up to full strength. There will be interviews coming up in the near future to ensure the department has a pool of candidates in case of openings in the future.

Stahler also recommended three citizens to fill spots on various boards. He proposed Rick Nease for a six-year term on the Planning Commission, Scott Shellhaas for a 3-year term on the Civil Service Commission, and Mark Butler for a 5-year term on the Board of Building Appeals. The council approved all three appointments. Mayor Stahler talks about the appointments: 

Service-Safety Director Wes Dodds reminded council that the Hometown Christmas festivities that had been scheduled for Friday, December 1st had been moved to Friday, December 8th due to inclement weather. Downtown activities will begin at 4:00 PM and the parade moves out at 6:00 PM.

Police Chief Chris Marlow told council that two officers have recently completed their field training program. Officers Cody Reed and Gregory Haynes completed their training program and are on patrol. Additionally, Officer Mason Treen will be released on December 3rd and Officer Brayden Jacobs will be released at the end of December.

The legislative portion of the meeting saw sixteen ordinances given readings. Most of the ordinances dealt with compensation for various city offices and municipal court employees and a few covered expenditures and expenses. One ordinance allowed for the renewal of a five-year contract with Miami Valley Lighting of Dayton to maintain the city’s street lights. Service-Safety Director Dodds discusses the contract renewal: 

The council will next meet on Tuesday, December 12, at 7:30 PM.