Chamber honors Marker; several others with annual awards


The Logan County Chamber of Commerce will present its annual awards to community members and local organizations at the Stars in Business Night of Recognition on Wednesday, November 2. Award nominations are solicited from the Chamber membership and the 2022 award winners were selected by the Chamber Executive Committee.

The annual Richard J. Rupp Leadership Award is presented to the person who has made a significant impact in Logan County with their outstanding leadership skills. This person will be recognized for their commitment, vision, and dedication to the community. The 2022 Richard J. Rupp Leadership Award will be presented posthumously to Harold Marker.

Marker passed away on September 6, of this year.  Harold’s professional career began with Knowlton Construction, which eventually brought him and his family to Bellefontaine in 1960. In 1966, Harold and Bob Thomas formed Thomas & Marker Construction. In 1983, Harold became the sole owner of the company, which continues under family leadership with offices in Bellefontaine and Columbus.

Harold’s community involvement included serving 37 years as a trustee of the Sloan Industrial School, a member and past trustee of the First United Methodist Church, a former director of the Bellefontaine Federal Savings and Loan, a past director of Quincy Castings Inc., and a member of Bluffton University President’s Advisory Board, U.S. Representative Mike DeWine’s Academy Review Board, and BCS Permanent Improvement Committee. Recognitions include the 1998 Sam Walton Business Leader Award, 2007 Bellefontaine Kiwanis Citizen of the Year Award, 2014 Ohio Northern University Distinguished Alumni Award, 2015 Bradford Schools Distinguished Alumni Award, and 2015 Ohio Northern University Lehr Society Inductee. Harold and his wife Barbara have generously given to a plethora of organizations including land for the construction of the YMCA.

Other awards given by the chamber include:

The Emerging Business Award is presented to an independently owned and operated Logan County business with an operational history between 18 months and 4 years that exemplifies a unique business idea, marketing approach, and/or management style that has contributed to its growth and success. The 2022 Emerging Business Award will be presented to Prescription Bliss.

Erin & Jeremy LeVan (middle)

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has made a significant investment in and impact on economic development in Logan County. The 2022 Entrepreneur of the Year Award will be given to Jeremy & Erin LeVan, owners of LeVan Excavating, Inc.

The Integrity in Business Award is given to a business that provides a quality product or service, operates with the highest level of honesty, and has earned the trust of the Logan County community. The 2022 Integrity in Business Award will be presented to Beasley Architecture.

The 2022 Nonprofit Organization of the Year Award is given to an agency that shows dedication to improving lives and strengthening our community through the use of volunteers and local resources to demonstrate the generosity found throughout Logan County. This year’s Nonprofit of the Year Award will be given to the Downtown Bellefontaine Partnership.

The Small Business of the Year Award is presented to an established Logan County business that has demonstrated growth, profitability, and civic involvement. This year’s Small Business of the Year Award will be given to Elle A. Design.

The Young Professional of the Year Award is given to an individual between the ages of 20 and 40 who has devoted significant time to improving the quality of life of others through community service and is actively developing leadership skills in themselves and others. The 2022 Young Professional of the Year Award will be given to Shannon Reese, Marketing Coordinator with Small Nation and Indian Lake School Board member.

The Logan County Visitors Bureau awards the Max Evans Tourism Award annually to the person who exhibits hospitality to visitors to our community and for working to promote Logan County attractions. The 2022 Max Evans Tourism Award winner is Kris Swisher, Board President of Logan County Landmark Preservation & the Holland Theatre.

The Chamber Stars in Business Night of Recognition will be held on Wednesday, November 2 starting at 6 p.m. at the Holland Theatre. A social hour will be held from 5 – 6 p.m.