Police Memorial Ceremony Held Saturday; Video Included


The 53rd Annual “Police Memorial Week Ceremony”  was held Saturday morning at Brown Park by Logan County Law Enforcement.

Judge Natasha Kennedy was the featured speaker:

The group honored four officers killed in Logan County over the years:

  • George Rockwell, Logan County Sheriff’s Department, 1878
  • Frank Hossler, Ohio State Highway Patrol, 1956
  • Sherman Ricketts, West Liberty Police Department, 1962
  • Murray Griffin, Belle Center Police Department, 1986

6 officers in Ohio were killed in the line of duty during the 2022-2023 year:

  • Dominic M. Francis, Bluffton Police Department, March 31, 2022
  • Matthew Eugene Yates, Clark County Sheriff’s Office, July 24, 2022
  • Timothy J. Unwin, Springfield Township Police Department, March 31, 2023
  • Daniel J. Kin, Wyandot County Sheriff’s Office, December 15, 2022
  • Joshua Hamilton, Hamilton County Sheriff’s Officer, December 18, 2023
  • Marcus Ziegler, Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office, May 26, 2023

Several agencies were in attendance including, the Bellefontaine Police Department, Logan County Sheriff’s Office, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Russells Point Police, Washington Township Police, West Liberty Police, and DeGraff Police.