Riverside Board of Education Discuss Updates


The Riverside Board of Education met in a brief regular session Tuesday evening.

The Open House for the 2023-2024 school year will be held Monday, August 21 from 1:00 – 5:30 pm with classes starting on Tuesday, August 22.

There are approximately 600 students enrolled for this school year.

The construction of the new Riverside Community Health Center is on track and construction will be done by August 31.

By mid-late September, the building is expected to be fully operational for students.

The new playground has been installed and is a great new addition to the school district.

It is safe, challenging, and handicap accessible to all students. The new playground was paid for by school funding.

The new playground at Riverside Local Schools.

Dr. Scott Mann, Superintendent of Riverside Local Schools, comments on the new Riverside Community Health Center building project, new playground, and the excitement for this school year:

There has been a gaga ball court installed and was a grant written by Sybil Truster on behalf of her husband Kenny Truster.

Two mobile pickleball courts and a basketball court have also been added.

Zaiden Mallow, an incoming 2nd grader, shows his excitement for the new gaga ball court.

Mrs. Kelly Kauffman, 7-12 principal, reported that all staff meetings for the school district are completed.

The board approved the following items:

  • Substitute Classified List
  • Certified Substitute Teacher and Classified Substitute Para Pro List
  • Accepted the resignation of Brittany Scott as Cafeteria Staff for the 2023-2024 school year
  • Employed Kathy Stotler as part-time Cafeteria Staff at Level 8 for the 2023-2024 school year
  • 2023-2024 bus routes
  • 9th-period proposal
  • The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the United Riverside Education Association
  • The 2023-2024 Teaching Staff as VLA Teachers for the 2023-2024 school year at a rate of $250 for a full credit course, $125 for ½ credit course, and $75 for a ¼ credit course according to the VLA participation agreement on an as-needed basis

The following list of bus/van drivers for the Riverside School District for the 2023-2024 school year pending all requirements being met:

  • Angel Allen
  • Chelsea Andrews
  • Jason Bell
  • Kayla Castallante
  • Tonya Castallante
  • Laura Dalton
  • Amanda Gammell
  • Nicole Harshbarger
  • Bryce Hodge
  • Tyler Hodge
  • Kelly Kauffman
  • Kyle Knight
  • Scott Mann
  • Amy McDaniel
  • Tim McGill
  • Maelinn Myers
  • Brogan Oliver
  • Andrew Phelps
  • Alan Pope
  • Shane Pope
  • Bonnie Shaffer
  • William Shaffner
  • Angie Shoe
  • Dawn Smith
  • Patrick Smith
  • Jean Stanfield
  • Caitlynn Wickline
  • Lindsay Wyan
  • Rod Yoder

The meeting then went into executive session.

The next regular meeting will be held on September 19th at 6:00 pm in the school district library.